• January 7 to January 23

    Posted by Sean Souter on 1/7/2019

    This is the last update for this semester. We will be finishing up a few loose ends and then moving into culminating tasks and final exam preparation.

    January, 7 to 11

    - Finish demographics unit

    - Explore a few topics in economic and urban geography

    January 14 to 18

    - Culminating task (computer lab) on Monday and Tuesday

    - Culminating task (classroom) on Wednesday and Thursday

    - Make up day on Friday

    January 21 to 23

    - Exam review

    January 24 through 29

    - Final exams

    Comments (0)
  • December 17 to December 21

    Posted by Sean Souter on 12/16/2018 4:00:00 PM

    Monday, December 17

    - Textbook work
    * Read pages 233 to 243

    * Do page 235 #2

    * Do Page 236 #2

    * Do Page 243 #1, 2

    * Do page 244 #1-4

    Tuesday, December 18

    - Computer lab to continue work on the Canada and the World Research Project, assigned last Friday

    Wednesday, December 19

    - Computer lab to continue work on the Canada and the World Research Project, assigned last Friday

    Thursday, December 20

    - Demographic Transition Model work

    Friday, December 21

    - Christmas actvitiy, TBD

    Comments (0)
  • December 10 to 14

    Posted by Sean Souter on 12/9/2018 3:00:00 PM

    Monday, December 10

    - Test Return: Please ask your student about their mark

    - Immigration and Population in Canada's history

    - Read and discuss pages 217 to 221

    * Do page 216 #1-5

     Tuesday, December 11

    * Do page 219 #1-4

    * Do Page 221 #1-3

    - Read pages 223-225

    * Do page 225 #1-6

    Wednesday, December 12

    Immigration who gets in and why?

    - Types of Immigrants

    Thursday, December 13

    - Population Pyramids Worksheets

    Friday, December 14

    - Canada and the World Project

    Comments (0)
  • December 3 to December 7

    Posted by Sean Souter on 12/1/2018 4:00:00 PM

    Monday, December 3

    - Review for Climate Unit Test

    Tuesday, December 4

    - Climate Unit Test Part 1 See last week's notes for a review sheet and the announcement

    Wednesday, December 5

    Climate Unit Test Part 2 See last week's notes for a review sheet and the announcement

    Thursday, December 6

    - Introduction to Human Geography and Population Studies

    Friday, December 7

    - Intro. to Population Lecture

    * Read pages 211 to 216

    * Do page 214 # 1 to 4

     

    Comments (0)
  • November 26 to 30

    Posted by Sean Souter on 11/26/2018

    Monday, November 26

    - Latitude and Longitude work package. Finish set 2 and do set 3.

    - Test Annoucement: Climate unit test on Tuesday, December 4

    Climate Test Review

    Tuesday, November 27

    Climate Graphs and Climate Regions

    Wednesday, November 28

    Latutude and Longitude work package. Set 4.

    - Other types of Climate Graphs (Hythergraph, Circle Graph)

    Thursday, November 29

    - Sharkwater, Pt.1

    Friday, November 30

    Text Pg 71 #1-4

    - Time Zones Worksheet

    Comments (0)
  • November 19 to 23

    Posted by Sean Souter on 11/18/2018 3:00:00 PM

    Monday, November 19

    - Global Warming Project presentations carried over from last Friday's snow day

    Tuesday, November 20

    - Venn Diagram Solutions: Environmentally Sustainable, Affordable, Socially Desirable

    - Latitude and Longitude, Next Set

    Wednesday, November 21

    Thursday, November 22

    Friday, November 23

    - PA Day, no school for students

    Comments (0)
  • November 12 to 16

    Posted by Sean Souter on 11/11/2018 3:00:00 PM

    Monday, November 12

    - Rob Nash concert, Details TBD

    Tuesday, November 13

    - Computer lab. Global Warming Project Due on Thursday

    Wednesday, November 14

    - Take Your Kid to Work Day.  All grade 9 students are out on placement at a parent or family member's place of work.

    - Grade 9s reporting to school today will do supervised work periods focusing on future employment options

    Thursday, November 15

    Global Warming Project Due Today

    - Inconvenient Truth/Global Warming project presentations and take up

    Friday, November 16

    - Inconvenient Truth/Global Warming project presentations and take up

    Comments (0)
  • November 5 to 9

    Posted by Sean Souter on 11/4/2018 3:00:00 PM

    Monday, November 5

    - Report to class first for a brief tutorial on using Google Advanced search to find quaility sources of information

    - Computer lab research day. Pages one and two from Climate Research Assignment

    Tuesday, November 6

    - Computer lab research day.  Climate Research Assignment  Due Thursday, November 15

    Wednesday, November 7

    - Start of in depth study of Latitude and Longitude  Set 1 should be completed

    Thursday, November 8

    - Sharkwater: How humans are endangering shark populations through global warming and over hunting. How does the loss of an alpha predator change aquatic ecosystems?

    - Pleases remember the Climate Research Assignment is Due Thursday, November 15

    Friday, November 9

    - Period 2: Rememberance Day Ceremony

    - Period 3: Computer lab (report to class first) to work on Global Warming Issue project

     

    Comments (0)
  • October 29 to November 2

    Posted by Sean Souter on 10/28/2018 1:00:00 PM

    Monday, October 29

    - Chapter 2 Test: Physical Connections in Geography

    Tuesday, October 30

    - Introduction to Climate Factors and our new unit on Climate and Weather

    Wednesday, October 31

    - Finish Climate Factors from yesterday

    Thursday, November 1

    - An Inconvenient Sequel, Pt 1

    Friday, November 2

    - An Inconvenient Sequel, Pt 2

    - Global Warming Issue Assignment  - Topics chosen today, next Monday and Tuesday in the computer lab to do research

    Comments (0)
  • October 22 to 26

    Posted by Sean Souter on 10/21/2018 4:00:00 PM

    Monday, October 22

    - Test review for Chapter 2: Landforms and Geology on Monday, October 29

    - The Rock Cycle

    Tuesday, October 23

    - Contours and Cross Sections

    Wednesday, October 24

    - Ocean's Deep - Sea Floor Trenches and Plate Boundaries

    Thursday, October 25

    - Read pages 50 to 53 from the textbook

    - Answer questions Page 53 # 1, 2, 3, 4

    - Review for Monday's test

    Friday, October 26

    Students should review and study for Monday's Physical Geography Unit Test

    PA DAY, no school for students. Remember your unit test on Monday, October 29.  See Monday's entry for the review sheet

    Comments (0)