• October 7 to October 11

    Posted by Sean Souter on 10/8/2019

    Monday, October 7

    - Grammar review package: end punctuation, commas, colons, semi-colons, apostrophes

    Tuesday, October 8

    - Grammar review package: hyphens, ellipsis, brackets, single and double quotation marks

    - Persuasive writing introduction

    Wednesday, October 9

    - Creating a good research question

    - Writing a clear and provable thesis

    - Short Stories returned today. Ask your student how they did.

    Thursday, October 10

    - Academic (or non-Wikipedia) research

    - Incorporating facts and statistics into persuasive writing

    - Research Package (4 pages) due on Tuesday, October 15

    Friday, October 11

    - High School Mass

    Comments (-1)
  • September 30 to October 4

    Posted by Sean Souter on 9/29/2019 4:00:00 PM

    Monday, September 30

    - Orange Shirt Day

    - Computer lab to write short story

    Tuesday, October 1

    - Computer lab to write short story

    - Homework: Write short story

    - Parents: Help your student by reading what your student has written so far and give feedback.

    Wednesday, October 2

    - Short story unit review and wrap up

    - Homework: Write short story

    - Parents: Help your student by reading what your student has written so far and give feedback.

    Thursday, October 3

    - Computer lab to print and hand in short story and all rough work (see rubric for details)

    Friday, October 4

    - Short Story Quiz with focus on story interpretation, the Literary Definitions handout, and the Text to Self, Text to Text, Text to World framework.

    - Terry Fox Walk/Run period 4 today

     

    Comments (-1)
  • September 23 to 27

    Posted by Sean Souter on 9/23/2019

    Monday, September 23

    - Short story "Charles"  Read  and use the Text to Text, Text to World, Text to Self framework

    - Mark "Charles" on the provided short story rubric to assess both the quality of the writing and how well the author delivered the story

    Tuesday, September 24

    - Setting and Theme work

    - Homework: Start to develop the basics (characters, setting, theme) of an original short story

    Wednesday, September 25

    - Computer lab to start writing short story

    - Short story quiz "Ultimate Construction" marked and returned to students today.  Please ask your student how they did.

    Thursday, September 26

    - Short story "The Most Dangerous Game"

    Friday, September 27

    - PA Day, no school for students

    Comments (-1)
  • September 16 to 20

    Posted by Sean Souter on 9/16/2019

    Monday, September 16

    - Punctuating Dialogue

    - Creating Characters and Conflict

    - Writing a conversation using dialogue rules

    Resource:  www.thecreativepenn.com/2012/10/04/dialogue-mistakes/

    Tuesday, September 17

    Lamb to the Slaughter newspaper articles due

    - "The Monkey's Paw" read and do questions

    Wednesday, September 18

    - "The Monkey's Paw" groups

    - Newspaper Reports handed back. Please ask your student to see their mark

    Thursday, September 19

    - Short Story and Dialogue quiz - rewrite lines with proper grammar and conversation flow, analyze a provided short story

    Friday, September 20

    - TMR During the afternoon, no English Class

    Comments (-1)
  • September 9 to 13

    Posted by Sean Souter on 9/9/2019 10:00:00 AM

    Monday, September 9

    - List of literary terms and definitions

    - "The Man Who Had No Eyes" read and do questions

         - Characterization through dialogue

         - Foreshadowing or how authors include clues throughout a story to ensure the surprise at the end is not too much of a surprise.

          - Theme What message is the author trying to convey

     Tuesday, September 10

    - Literary Terms: symbol and imagery in the world around us.  How and why authors use symbols and imagery

    "On the Sidewalk Bleeding" read and do questions

    Wednesday, September 11

    - Genre discussion: What makes a story sci-fi, horror, comedy, historical fiction, or mystery?

    "The Pedestrian" read and do questions

    Mood

    Thursday, September 12

    "Lamb to the Slaughter" read and do questions

    Horror genre

    Friday, September 13

    "Lamb to the Slaughter" newspaper report, due Tuesday, September 17 at the start of class.

    Comments (-1)
  • September 4 to 6

    Posted by Sean Souter on 9/4/2019

     Thursday, September 5

    - The Sniper story questions and answers due at the end of class.

    Ultimate Construction read as a class

    - Short, short story writing task intro. and preparation

    Friday, September 6

    - Short, short story due at the end of class.

     

    Comments (-1)
  • Welcome to Grade 9 English

    Posted by Sean Souter on 9/3/2019

    Please note that due to copyright restrictions I will be unable to post a lot of our English work directly. Please be aware, however, that paper copies are given in class.

    If a student misses a day they can get any handouts from the bulletin board at the back of the classroom.

    Wednesday, September 4

    Students should read and answer assigned questions for the introductory short story The Sniper

    We will also be introducing our framework for reading and writing throughout the course by comparing and contrasting connections of:

    Text to Self

    Text to Text

    Text to Theory

    Text to World

     

    Comments (-1)